Giving your best

This past week I have been greatly challenged. Surprisingly this challenge hasn’t come from a friend, or a family member, or a catchy quote, but instead a popular christmas song. The Little Drummer Boy.

The song is about a poor boy who goes to see Jesus when he is born but does not have anything of monetary value to give him, so instead he plays his drum. My favorite lyrics in the song are these:

I played my drum for Him, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,
Then He smiled at me, pa rum pum pum pum
Me and my drum.

I’ve been listening to this song on repeat and by the time I get to that part I’m either already moved to tears (silly I know), or cannot help but jump up and shout for joy. The little boy who is playing his drum is giving his best to Jesus, and it’s all he has. Whats awesome is Jesus liked it.

While listening to this song I’m reminded of several people in my life: the guy who was selling umbrellas while it was raining in Florence, the workers on my grandparents property in North Carolina, my Bangladeshi friend who sold me rings in Italy, Sumi and her family, my friend Brittany who is studying to be a nurse, Dana and Cindy with YWAM phuket, my dad working working his butt off for coca cola, soldiers and contractors fighting for our country including my step dad, my mom going back to school after 15 years and taking care of the family, the lady in Guatemala selling fruit so her son can get an education, and pretty much every market worker I’ve ever met (I really love market workers).

What I see in each one of these individual stories are people giving it everything they have, with all they have, no matter their situation. Sometimes thats all you can do. I am so inspired by people like this who aren’t afraid to give their all to something, not knowing the outcome, just doing it because they want to.

After traveling so much, seeing so much, doing so much, and now being home and back to normal life sometimes I feel like I’m wasting my time, when there is so much need out there. But now I understand that it’s not always about going, giving, and being busy, it’s about doing your best with whats in front of you during your current season.

One of my favorite quotes from the book The Barbarian Way by Erwin McManus is about Rhinos. He explains that rhinos run together at about 30mph but can only see 30 feet in front of them. Oh yeah, and they weigh about 2 tons! Can you imagine a 2 ton rhino running at 30 mph, and only able to see 30 feet in front of them? Erwin states, “they become an unstoppable force.” I feel like this is the potential we all have if we start giving our best (no matter what that is) in everything we do, without knowing the future or what lies ahead of us. It’s kind of exciting! I never thought I’d want to be a rhino! But I don’t want to die, go to heaven and have God ask me, “why didn’t you try your best.” I want to hear, “well done my good and faithful servant.”

So that is my prayer! Amen and Aloha!

Here is my favorite version of the little drummer boy by Mercy Me:

2 responses

Leave a Reply

